RSS

Reflections on week #3

06 Jun

I learned a lot with this assignment, because unlike the previous two assignments where the html tags were mostly familiar to me, this week’s had many tags that were new to me, such as <time>,<article>,<dl> and so on. When validating my html file, I learned that certain tags can’t be contained within certain other tags. For example, lists can’t be nested inside the <p> tag.

I understand the value in marking up pictures, but I find it frustrating to do the text on them; there’s never enough room!!

Even though we haven’t done CSS yet, I have a .css file with my .html file this week because I’ve been fooling around with CSS.

Looking forward to the next assignment, especially since things have been a bit hectic in my house the last few days, but now I’ll have more time.

 
 

Tags: , ,

2 responses to “Reflections on week #3

  1. ebizjoey

    June 8, 2011 at 8:55 PM

    Hi terrytek, I think bold did deprecate in html5 but I guess validation is the way to go for that, there are so many changes. I know the time tag is new html5 ( http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/HTML5 ). Your idea to use footer1 as expressed in a comment shows your a real thinker and doer, hip hip hooray! Very nice work, I enjoyed seeing it, thanks. 🙂

     
  2. Jamie Curle

    June 10, 2011 at 7:40 AM

    As Joey has mentioned it’s good to see you exploring, making mistakes and learning. You’re discovering that certain tags can’t contain other tags ( inlines can’t contain blocks ) and that some tags have to be contained ( inlines have to be inside a block )

    Start markup and writing the pictures as html. You don’t need to visually recreate them ( yet – hints at future exercise), what I’m interested in right now is seeing you take an idea from the world, abstract it into markup and then recreate that structure as html for others to see.

    For extra points it would be awesome to see some comments in there to explain the choices you’ve made. The explanation is just as important as the final thing.

    Yes.

     

Leave a Reply

 
