RSS

Week #4 reflection

20 Jun

I find that the more I’m learning, the more I realize I don’t know. I guess that’s not a bad thing; it just stimulates the desire to learn more.

“Learn By Doing” has always been one of the most effective learning methods for me. Once I make a certain mistake and learn how to correct it, I’m not likely to forget the right procedure the next time. One implementation of that this week is my attempt to use internal CSS stylesheets in some of my HTML documents (my elementary attempts at CSS in previous weeks were done with external style sheets). Jamie had said a few weeks back that I should comment more, so in an effort to do so, I had put some comments within the style tag (that’s where you put an internal style sheet). I found out putting comments inside the style tag is not a good idea!! Evidently, it can screw up the browsers’ reading the stylesheet, as I found out in my p, article, header, footer file. I had put a comment inside the style tag of that document and could not figure out for the longest time why my browser was formatting the #notable properly but ignoring the formatting for the #checklist (both were after the comment, but the comment seemed to affect them differently)!! And I found out in week #2 that you can’t leave a space between a number and its unit in CSS, because if you do, the CSS doesn’t work! So that is another mistake I won’t make again. Learn By Doing, it’s a mantra to live by 😉

I really like that HTML5 has tags that seem to be more descriptive of their contents than the “universal” div tag, like header, footer, article, nav, etc. I’m sure it will lead to code that’s easier to read, even if I don’t totally understand all the uses of the new tags yet.

Enjoying this learning journey very much, but not quite sure where I’m going with the final project…have to keep thinking. I’ve also learned a lot from my fellow classmates and enjoy reading their blogs; thanks to all of you for your help!

Antsy to start CSS!!

 
 

Tags: , ,

2 responses to “Week #4 reflection

  1. ebizjoeyj

    June 28, 2011 at 8:11 PM

    I agree, theory is great but real life experience with theory is king. I think the world of your contributions to this community Terrytek, you carried me by the way your effort speaks without knowing, thanks!

     
  2. fuzecode

    June 28, 2011 at 9:30 PM

    Hello,

    I like your imagines and descriptions, your usage helped me understand how this element is used properly.

    You’re self assessment table is very very nice, and I like how you added a ‘comment’ section to it. Can’t wait to learn css.

     

Leave a Reply

 
